ايلا

يجعل منهجنا الطلاب متحمسين للتعلم من خلال الكتب الرائعة والموضوعات الجذابة وملكية تعلمهم. أثناء استخدام منهج قائم على البحث ومتطور بشكل احترافي ، يعمل مدرسونا بجد لعمل دروس تفاعلية وجذابة لمجموعتهم الفريدة من الطلاب استنادًا إلى خريطة المنهج. تحقق من صفحة التعلم الاستكشافي للحصول على فهم أفضل للمناهج / الموضوعات التي يعمل بها كل صف على مدار العام!

مبادرة القراءة المستقلة

يؤكد البحث أن القراءة المستقلة مهمة. يتم إجراء القراءة المستقلة باستخدام الاختيار الذاتي
النصوص التي تحفز القراء الأفراد وتوفر للطلاب فرصًا لممارسة القراءة من أجل تطويرها
المهارات وبناء فهم غني بالمعايير على مجموعة متنوعة من مستويات النص. استمرارًا لمبادرة القراءة المستقلة الخاصة بنا للعام الدراسي 2019-2020 ، سيستخدم الطلاب سجلات القراءة المدرسية لتوثيق قراءتهم على مدار العام. سيتم استخدام السجل لتوثيق قراءة الطالب في المنزل والمدرسة. سيتم دمج الحوافز والاحتفالات لهذه المبادرة لدعم العمل لبناء مجتمع محو أمية قوي. يجب أن يقرأ الطلاب في المنزل كل يوم.

الدراسات الاجتماعية

يستخدم فريق الدراسات الاجتماعية برنامج NYCDOE K-8: جواز السفر إلى الدراسات الاجتماعية . هذا مورد تعليمي شامل يدمج معايير التعلم الأساسية المشتركة (CCLS) وإطار الدراسات الاجتماعية K-8 في ولاية نيويورك لدعم تعليم وتعلم الدراسات الاجتماعية القوية. إنه مصمم لدعم نطاق وتسلسل الدراسات الاجتماعية لمدينة نيويورك K-8 ، يتم تنظيم كل دورة دراسية سنوية حول وحدات دراسية مطورة حديثًا ، كل منها يسترشد بأسئلة أساسية.

الرياضيات

في الصفوف K-8 ، نستخدم Eureka Math . إنه منهج كامل من صف ما قبل الروضة إلى 8 منهج يتسلسل بعناية التقدم الرياضي في وحدات مصممة بخبرة. كتب Eureka Math فريق من المعلمين وعلماء الرياضيات الذين اهتموا كثيرًا بتقديم الرياضيات في تقدم منطقي من الصفوف قبل الروضة وحتى الصف الثامن. يتيح النهج المتماسك للمعلمين معرفة ما تعلمه الطلاب القادمون بالفعل ويضمن استعداد الطلاب له ماذا بعد. عند تطبيق برنامج Eureka Math بأمانة ، سيقلل بشكل كبير الفجوات في تعلم الطلاب ، ويغرس المثابرة في حل المشكلات ، ويجهز الطلاب لفهم الرياضيات المتقدمة. يقدم مدرسونا ملاحظات فورية حول التقييمات والأنشطة داخل الفصل باستخدام أنظمة التقدير السحابية وأدوات تحليل البيانات . يركز PS 89 بشكل كبير على جميع المواد ويعمل بجد لضمان مواجهة الطلاب دائمًا. لهذا السبب ، تقدم PS 89 R egents M ath لتأهيل طلاب الصف الثامن.

علم

يستخدم فريق العلوم Amplify Science ، الذي يمزج بين التحقيقات العملية والأنشطة الغنية بمحو الأمية والأدوات الرقمية التفاعلية لتمكين الطلاب من التفكير والقراءة والكتابة والمناقشة مثل العلماء والمهندسين الحقيقيين. بالنسبة للعام الدراسي 2019-2020 ، ستطبق الصفوف من رياض الأطفال إلى الصف الثالث والخامس والسادس تطبيق Amplify Science بينما تشتمل الصفوف 4 و 7 و 8 على وحدات مناهج تستخدم إطار "فهم حسب التصميم" المتوافق مع المعايير الأساسية المشتركة وتقييمات NYS. يوفر PS 89 للطلاب فرصة الالتحاق بفصل Regents Science أيضًا. يجتمع مدرسو العلوم في PS 89 بانتظام للتخطيط لتجارب ودروس وأنشطة جذابة وعروض للطلاب. مرة واحدة في العام ، ينشئ الطلاب مشاريع للمنافسة في معرض العلوم وعرض ما تعلموه على أقرانهم!

مبادرة جودة المدارس المتوسطة (MSQI)

تدعم مبادرة جودة المدارس المتوسطة (MSQI) المدارس في تطوير معرفة القراءة والكتابة لدى المراهقين الصغار ، وإعدادهم في النهاية للنجاح في المدرسة الثانوية والكلية. يتعاون فريق MSQI مع الموظفين في المدرسة لزيادة النسبة الإجمالية لطلاب الصف الثامن الذين يتخرجون في القراءة أو أعلى من مستوى صفهم. انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد: مبادرة جودة المدارس المتوسطة (MSQI) .

ELa

Our curriculum gets students excited about learning through great books, compelling topics and ownership of their learning.  While using a research-based and professionally developed curriculum, our teachers work hard to make interactive and engaging lessons for their unique group of students based off the curriculum map. Check out the Expeditionary Learning page to get a better understanding of the curriculum/topics each grade works with throughout the year!  

Independent Reading Initiative

Research confirms that Independent Reading matters. Independent Reading is conducted using self-selected
texts that motivate individual readers and provide students with opportunities to practice reading to develop
skills and build standards-rich understanding at a variety of text levels. Continuing with our Independent Reading Initiative for the 2019-2020 school year, students will use school reading logs to document their reading throughout the year. The log will be used to document student reading both at home and at school. Incentives and celebrations will be incorporated for this initiative to support the work to build a strong literacy community. Students should be reading at home every day.

Social Studies

The Social Studies Team is using the NYCDOE K-8: Passport to Social Studies program. This is a comprehensive instructional resource that integrates the Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) and the New York State K-8 Social Studies Framework to support strong social studies teaching and learning. It is designed to support The New York City K-8 Social Studies Scope & Sequence, each yearly course of study is organized around newly developed units of study, each guided by essential questions.

Mathematics

In grades K-8, we utilize Eureka Math. It is a complete Pre-K through 8 curriculum that carefully sequences the mathematical progressions into expertly crafted modules. Eureka Math was written by a team of teachers and mathematicians who took great care to present mathematics in a logical progression from grades pre-k through 8. The coherent approach allows teachers to know what incoming students already have learned and ensures that students are prepared for what comes next. When implemented faithfully, Eureka Math will dramatically reduce gaps in student learning, instill persistence in problem solving, and prepare students to understand advanced math. Our teachers give immediate feedback on assessments and in class activities with cloud-based grading systems and data analysis tools. PS 89 places a huge emphasis on all subjects and works hard to ensure that students are always challenged.  For this reason, PS 89 offers Regents Math for qualifying 8th grade students.

Science

The Science Team utilizes Amplify Science, which blends hands-on investigations, literacy-rich activities, and interactive digital tools to empower students to think, read, write, and argue like real scientists and engineers. For the 2019 – 2020 school year, grades K – 3, 5, and 6 will be implementing Amplify Science while grades 4, 7, and 8 have curriculum units utilizing the Understanding By Design Framework aligned to the Common Core Standards and NYS Assessments. PS 89 offers students the opportunity to be in Regents Science class as well.  The Science teachers at PS 89 meet regularly to plan engaging experiments, lessons, activities, and student showcases.  Once a year, students create projects to compete in the science fair and display their learning to their peers! 

Middle School Quality Initiative (MSQI)

The Middle School Quality Initiative (MSQI) supports schools in developing literacy in young adolescents, ultimately preparing them for success in high school and college.  The MSQI team partners with school-based staff to increase the overall percentage of eighth grade students who graduate reading on or above their grade level. Click here to learn more: Middle School Quality Initiative (MSQI).

Visit our Instagram

  • White Instagram Icon

Contact Us

Tel: 718-653-0835

Fax: 718-231-2863

Address

980 Mace Avenue

Bronx NY, 10469